Latest News

Nasdex claims 7th career win with dominant Caulfield display

Reigning FLR Racehorse Of The Year Nasdex goes from strength to strength dominating a talented field at Caulfield to score his 2nd win this campaign, 6th win from his last 10 starts and 7th win overall


The Champ had already returned this campaign with a Saturday win first-up before a courageous Moonee Valley placing and the team set their sights on testing him out to 1100m for the first time in his last 10 starts.

CLICK HERE FOR RACE REPLAY - https://www.racing.com/form/2018-01-07/caulfield/race/9

Having built an affinity with emerging apprentice Stephanie Thornton - Nasdex jumped away well and took up his preferred on speed position travelling beautifully for Steph. After pinching a cheap sectional between the 600m-400m, Nasdex showed a lovely turn of foot to fend off new rival Murphy's Reward and power to a dominant victory only 0.5 seconds outside the Class record.

"He just relaxed so well today and gave a big kick so I was very confident he'd be hard to run down" said Thornton.

Nasdex was cheered home as always by a big group of owners on track... and aren't they enjoying a fantastic ride with their Champ posting his 7th wins from just his first 15 starts. Amongst those celebrating was Wayne "knows where the camera is" Gatt haha!

Wayne Gatt Nasdex owners

"He's found a new level this campaign no doubt as he's matured and figured the game out. Credit to Ciaron and his team they did an awesome job with Nasdex last campaign and he's turned into an absolute ripper" said FLR's Catherine O'Dea.

Nasdex becomes the FLR team's 1st winner for 2018 after a record breaking 37 winners in 2017.


"The FLR stable are humming along with 11 winners in the past 10 weeks and we're exceptionally proud of our Class Of 2015 crop particularly the 11 Inglis yearlings that have now combined for 31 wins" said O'Dea

"Nasdex is without doubt the new stable star - if he wasn't already - and he's sent the Spring stars in Black Sail, Linguist and Smart Coupe a message that he aint giving up his Racehorse Of The Year title without a fight"

CONGRATULATIONS: Stuart Joyce, Andrew & Georgie Ferguson, Lloyd Walker, Damian Devola, Tony Rippon, Bob, Merlene & Jules Hogno, Helen Cowdery, Peter Thomas, Steven & Lauren Raffin, Tanya Rahme, S J V Syndicate (Pat Lennon, Jane Lennon, John Guscic), Wayne Gatt, Julee Van Steenis, Chris Grouios, Prue Holcombe, Michael Davison, Gary Gleeson, Graham Furley, Scott Wells, Jamie Rockes, John Hillman, Ken McDonald, Glenn Maxwell


Should you have any further questions please click here to email us.
© First Light Racing Pty Ltd 2009

Back Email a Friend View Printable Version Bookmark and Share
eknowhow | The World's Best Websites
  Privacy Policy and Disclaimer